I love reading historical romance. I love being taken back in time to get a glimpse into the love story of two individuals who are destined to be together against all odds. Romance is amazing but even more so when there is a twist to the story that keeps you turning the page. Finding books such as these are shelf keepers you go back and read over and over again instead of popping in that romantic movie.

Melanie Dickerson has done a more than amazing job in both “The Merchant’s Daughter” and “The Healers Apprentice”; both books were hard to put down. The message of God’s divine love and healing were not lost in either. The love stories in both books carry the reader on a journey knitting you to the characters feeling their joys, heartaches and pains.

I am so honored today to have Melanie Dickerson here sharing more about her work and giving us a little glimpse into her life. I will also be hosting a giveaway of Melanie Dickerson’s books “The Merchant’s Daughter” and “The Healer’s Apprentice”

To enter the giveaway please leave a comment below.

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION- An unthinkable danger. An unexpected choice. Annabel, once the daughter of a wealthy merchant, is trapped in indentured servitude to Lord Ranulf, a recluse who is rumored to be both terrifying and beastly. Her circumstances are made even worse by the proximity of Lord Ranulf's bailiff---a revolting man who has made unwelcome advances on Annabel in the past. Believing that life in a nunnery is the best way to escape the escalation of the bailiff's vile behavior and to preserve the faith that sustains her, Annabel is surprised to discover a sense of security and joy in her encounters with Lord Ranulf. As Annabel struggles to confront her feelings, she is involved in a situation that could place Ranulf in grave danger. Ranulf's future, and possibly his heart, may rest in her hands, and Annabel must decide whether to follow the plans she has cherished or the calling God has placed on her heart.

 

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION- Two Hearts. One Hope.
Rose has been appointed as a healer's apprentice at Hagenheim Castle, a rare opportunity for a woodcutter's daughter like her. While she often feels uneasy at the sight of blood, Rose is determined to prove herself capable. Failure will mean returning home to marry the aging bachelor her mother has chosen for her—a bloated, disgusting merchant who makes Rose feel ill.
When Lord Hamlin, the future duke, is injured, it is Rose who must tend to him. As she works to heal his wound, she begins to understand emotions she's never felt before and wonders if he feels the same. But falling in love is forbidden, as Lord Hamlin is betrothed to a mysterious young woman in hiding. As Rose's life spins toward confusion, she must take the first steps on a journey to discover her own destiny.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melanie I am so thrilled to have you here.

Melanie Dickerson

What made you want to become a writer?

I enjoyed writing in middle school and high school and wanted to be a novelist. I stopped writing for a while when I went to college and for a few years afterward, but picked it back up after my second daughter was born.

What is your writing process (do you build a synopsis first or do you just begin writing for example)?

I get an idea in my head and then try to flesh it out without writing anything down. Sometimes I get a friend to help me brainstorm, which jumpstarts or restarts my plotting process. I prefer to start writing without any kind of writing synopsis or outline, but I will write a four-page synopsis if I’m sending a proposal to my agent or editor, and then write the story. But I prefer to write the story before the synopsis.

You write what is considered Christian Fiction; who is Christ to you and why do you find it important to relay His message in your work?

Christ is everything to me—my Savior, my best friend, my strength and defender. I’m not sure I could write a book without God in it. I have no desire to. But I don’t exactly plan to put His message in my work. It’s just there, in whatever I write, because He’s part of who I am, and who I am comes out in my honest writing.

You have written two amazing romance novels “The Merchant’s Daughter” and “The Healer’s Apprentice”; what is your inspiration behind writing romance?

God invented romance, and I happen to be fascinated with it. Romance, after all, is a picture of God’s love for us. It’s in the Bible, particularly in Song of Songs, and it’s what I enjoy writing.

The characters in both “The Merchant’s Daughter” and “The Healer’s Apprentice” are remarkably detailed with past and present history forging the reader to feel a part of their struggle, pains, joys and happiness ; how important is character development to you?

Character development and plot are so intertwined, it’s impossible to have one without the other, and hard to say which is more important. They develop together in my head and on the page. And character is what drives the story, and also a major part of what drives the message of the book. So I’d say character development is extremely important.

Will we see any romantic series’ coming from you?

My next two books are sort of a series. The hero of The Fairest Beauty, my Snow White story which comes out in August, is the son of Rose and Wilhelm from The Healer’s Apprentice. And my fourth book, which comes out next March, is a sequel to The Fairest Beauty, with another of Rose and Wilhelm’s sons as the hero.

Will you dabble in any other genre, if so what?

It’s hard to imagine writing anything other than historical romance, but I’d like to write some adult historical romances, instead of only sticking with Young Adult.

What can you tell other writers to encourage them in pursuing their writing goals?

Feel the joy. If God has given you a talent to write, you will enjoy it, and God will give you the perseverance to stick it out until you get published, no matter how long it takes. Rejection is just part of this business, but you can’t let it discourage you. You must never quit or give up. If you don’t persevere and keep trying, you’ll never know how far you could have gone, how much God could do through your writing.

Though you are a known published writer do you still partake in writing contests? If so why?

My publisher enters my books in published author contests like the Christy Awards I think for the marketing benefits. I know one very successful author who doesn’t let her publisher enter her books, because she knows it’s not about getting glory for herself, it’s about God and giving him all the glory. At this point, my publisher is still working on name recognition for me. I’m a long way from bestseller status or being a household name! Still, I believe God should get all the glory!

Where can readers find your books?

Hopefully in their local bookstores, but if not, they can order them from Christianbook.com, Amazon, Barnes&Noble, and maybe even find them in their local library! I love libraries.

Where can readers find out more about what you are working on?

I make announcements on my Facebook author page, http://www.facebook.com/pages/Melanie-Dickerson/173975372695240?ref=tn_tnmn and also on my blog, http://melaniewrites.blogspot.com/ and I will be updating my website http://www.melaniedickerson.com/ as soon as I get the cover for The Fairest Beauty, which should be any day now.

If you could use one word to describe yourself what would it be?

Dependent. Dependent on God, on his mercy, forgiveness, righteousness and strength.

Out of all the places in the world to relax and pick up your pen and write where would you want to be?

Most of the time, I prefer being at home, but I can write just about anywhere. I think it would be fun to write in a hotel room at the beach, with the windows open, listening to the waves crash against the sand, but only when the temperature is around 70 degrees. I hate the beach in summer!

Do you have a favorite quote? If so what is it?

I love this passage from the Psalms:

We wait in hope for the Lord;

he is our help and our shield.

In him our hearts rejoice,

for we trust in his holy name.
May your unfailing love rest upon us, O Lord,

even as we put our hope in you.  Psalm 33:20-22

 

Thank you so much for being here and allowing others to get to know you and your work a little better.

Thanks so much for having me on your excellent blog, Crystal! It was fun!

 

 

 

 

 

 

