I love romance. I love reading Christian romance because the message of Christ is just as prevalent as the tension that the romance brings. I love this type of romance because it keeps you glued to the very pages, knowing in the end because Christ is in the mix something great will happen. Romance is amazing but even more so when there is a twist to the story that keeps you turning the page. Finding books such as these are shelf keepers you go back and read over and over again instead of popping in that romantic movie.

I am so honored today to have author Dana Pratola here giving us a little insight into the inspiration behind her inspirational romance “The Covering”

Dana Pratola

Welcome Dana Pratola I am so thrilled to host you today.

What made you want to become a writer?

It’s been there as long as I can remember. My dad used to read to me every night and once I learned to read I hit the ground running, as it were. I read everything. Writing was just a natural progression.

What is your writing process (do you build a synopsis first or do you just begin writing for example)?

I usually have a scene or a few scenes in mind and I build around those. I write an overview, basically writing the story in a few pages, then break the scenes into chunks and fill in all the blanks between.

You write what is considered Christian Fiction; who is Christ to you and why do you find it important to relay His message in your work?

I love this question. I could go on for hours about this one topic, but space won’t permit so let me just say Christ is EVERYTHING to me. He’s my Lord, Savior, Friend, Comforter, etc. Whatever I need, whenever, He’s it. But I think the world is used to being told that God is wrathful, angry and just looking to punish. While it’s important to respect God’s awesome power and judgment, He’s a God of love! The whole point of Jesus is love. We can’t adhere to God’s standard – ever – so God said, “you know what? I require absolute holiness and I know you can’t pull it off, but Jesus will sacrifice Himself in your place so that when you sin it won’t be charged to you because He already paid for it. Clean slate.” I think everyone should know that God, and that it’s never too late to come to Him no matter what you’ve done or where you’ve been.

See? I’m babbling, lol.

You have written an inspirational romance novel “The Covering” what is your inspiration behind writing romance?

For me romance is the main focus. A book or movie might be great, but charge it with a romantic edge and I’m hooked. The dynamic between men and women is really the foundation of our society – be fruitful and multiply. I guess it goes back to sacrifice. I love to write about characters who are so invested in one another that the rest of the world is secondary 😉

Can you give us a little insight about the main characters of “The Covering”?

Tessa is a Christian. She’s all about doing the right thing and doesn’t believe anyone is hopeless. She’s not happy with her life and is in the process of getting it in order when Gunnar topples her apple cart (figuratively speaking).

Gunnar is…intense. He wants nothing to do with God. He’s been abused, abandoned, and has made some really bad choices with his life. He’s not sure there is such a thing as salvation and doesn’t know if he’d want it if there were. But he wants Tessa.

Will we see any romantic ‘series’ coming from you?

As a matter of fact, I’m just completing the first book of a series. It’s romantic/paranormal/suspense I guess you’d say. I hope to have it out in the next few months but we’ll see how the Lord moves.

What are you working on now?

Apart from the series, I’m working on several other projects. I’m trying not to skip around too much from one to the other because then nothing gets done.

What can you tell other writers to encourage them in pursuing their writing goals?

Don’t waste time, and Don’t waste time. I know there are writers who won’t like to hear this, but pray first that it’s what God wants for you.  Your desire to write a book doesn’t always mean it’s God’s will, and people waste time they could have been using on what is really meant for them. Once you figure out you’re meant to write, Don’t Waste Time. Pray. Work. Read. Repeat. I need to take my own advice here because I’m a habitual procrastinator.

Where can readers find your books?

Amazon.com: http://ow.ly/aKAX6

Barnes and Noble.com: http://ow.ly/aKB7c

Pelican Book Group: http://www.pelicanbookgroup.com/ec/index.php 

Where can readers find out more about what you are working on?

There are reviews and excerpts on my website: www.danapratola.webs.com

Do you have a favorite quote? If so what is it?

My favorite quote changes from day to day. Today it’s probably,  “Live long and prosper.”

Would you give us a little teaser excerpt from “The Covering”?

BLURB: What do a Christian woman and a faithless biker have in common? The devil of course.

EXCERPT:

“Your pastor says I’m marked for death.”

The abruptness of the announcement left her momentarily speechless and quite unsure she’d heard correctly. “What?”

“He thinks the devil’s trying to kill me.”

She looked closely for any sign of humor, but Gunnar didn’t have a sense of humor she was aware of.

“Why does he think that?” she asked.

“I told you I have nightmares, right?” Tessa nodded. Gunnar ran his finger along the edge of his napkin. “Well it goes a little beyond that.”

Tessa listened, enthralled, as Gunnar described in terrifying detail what he suffered in the night. A few things made more sense – his hostility for one – and she now had a better grasp of what pushed him toward suicide. God, how had he coped so long with the torment?

“I’d say Pastor’s right,” Tessa said when he finished.

“Great.”

The waiter arrived with their plates then disappeared. “You said when you had the gun to your head,” she shivered inwardly, “it didn’t feel like you. It felt like you were being driven.” Gunnar met her eyes across the table. “I believe you were.”

“Demons, right?” he asked. Tessa inclined her head. “Can they do that?”

“They can’t pick up your gun and shoot you with it,” she said. “But they can be persuasive.”

“Yeah,” he grumbled.

Tessa glanced around the small room. To an eavesdropper the conversation would seem like mumbo jumbo and ordinarily she wouldn’t care if strangers thought her “out there” or weird, but she kept her voice low in consideration for Gunnar’s privacy.

“When was the last time you had one of those dreams?” she asked.

“It’s been a while. Thank God.” He made a sound exactly between a chuckle and a snicker. “I mean that.”

This time when Tessa reached for his hand he left it under hers, turning it upward to lightly grip her fingers. “But you don’t think it’s the end,” Tessa said.

He topped her thumb with his and rubbed gently. “It’s like they’re constantly hovering. Waiting for the right time.”

Tessa refused to acknowledge the chill that swept through her.

“I know when they come for me, I won’t be able to stop it,” Gunnar said. “And one of these times they’ll pull me back there and I won’t come out.”

 

 

 

 

 

