Author Tori Chase

 

Very excited to introduce you all to author Tori Chase and her debut novel SERIAL GAMES. Tori specializes in writing interracial romance. So sit back relax and get to know a little more about Tori and SERIAL GAMES.

Leave a comment to win a copy of SERIAL GAMES

 

 

 

Tori So excited to feature you and your book SERIAL GAMES today!!!

I’m psyched too! Thank you so much for inviting me; I’m happy to be here.

Tori tell us a little about what inspired your writing career?

When I was younger, I saw a prophetic movie: Romancing the Stone. I thought, Joan Wilder had the best life; romance writer, working at home, romantic-looking apartment. I wanted her life. I’d always written short stories and produced plays for my parents (complete with a soundtrack on my Dad’s reel-to-reel tape player) but I never could finish a full-length novel–the writing process just didn’t hold my interest. Then a few years ago, I was new to Colorado Springs with no family and friends and I began to dream whole scenes of a story. I knew then I had to write–and finish the novel.

Can you share with us a little about your writing process?

I typically have a kissing scene in mind (romance writer, you know) then I create a story around it. I write by the seat of my pants (pantser) but lately I’ve been writing a brief paragraph outline (one paragraph per chapter) so I know where I’m going without having a strict, very detailed outline (can’t write by the seat of my pants with it) and my creative juices still flow–leaving little room for writer’s block.

You write what is considered clean romance; what does that mean to you and why have you chosen to do so?

Clean to me means no open-door sex and no profanity. As a Christian woman, part of my witness will be my novels and I want to represent Christ by adhering to morals I believe in.

So your first book SERIAL GAMES is an interracial romance; what is your inspiration behind writing interracial romance?

Well, seeing different races on the cover of romance is still a bit–not sure if this is the right word–but taboo. It creates instant spark, as if it’s forbidden fruit. Plus, you rarely–and I mean rarely–see interracial romance in Christian fiction, which is another genre I write.

So tell us a little about the main characters in SERIAL GAMES?

FBI Agent Maggie Weston is the first African American female profiler to receive honors for her work in identifying John Michael Burrows, a serial killer whom she helped arrest a few years ago. He’s since escaped custody and US Marshal Brandon Worth is on his trail, yet he needs Maggie’s help to find Burrows. Maggie’s self-worth will be tested in this challenge and Brandon will have to face his past bitterness in his struggle to keep Maggie at arm’s length.

What kind of research did you have to do in order to write SERIAL GAMES?

I conducted a few searches on serial killers to familiarize myself with a few of their characteristics and I spent some time in Culpeper, VA to capture the setting of the story. I also researched profiling and I’m a former federal law enforcement officer so I was already familiar with the nuances of investigations.

Can you give us a little teaser excerpt from SERIAL GAMES?

Absolutely!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maggie’s eyes slowly traveled the width of the elevator door until they found Brandon’s reflection in the mirrored panels lining the inside of the car. Broad shoulders rippled down to muscular biceps that contracted with the force he used to grip the rail behind him.

She needed to assert herself now.

“I’m going to go over some of the documentation the district attorney’s office faxed us to see if I might be able to find the missing link enabling Burrows to escape custody.”

Brandon’s eyes narrowed. Obviously business wasn’t what he wanted to hear, and how easily he could read her discomfort troubled her. He had an uncanny knack for interpreting her body language. What did that mean? Whatever it meant, she didn’t have the time to analyze it now. She straightened her shoulders. “Knowing who helped him escape can perhaps shed some light on his next move.”

Brandon’s level stare remained.

Ok, he’s not buying it. Regardless, I refuse to fall…

“Do you forgive me?”

“What?” The question about forgiveness startled her. He had apologized but she wasn’t interested in discussing it. All she wanted to do was wash the smoke out of her hair and crash. It was going on midnight… or past it; she had lost track of time.

In one stride he was in front of her, one arm around her waist, the other guiding her chin up. His lips were warm and smooth as they glided over hers. He pulled back and disappointment filled Maggie at the loss of his heat. She stared into the dark thunderstorm whirling in his eyes.

“Do you forgive me?” His hoarse voice rumbled through to her inner core.

The elevator bell chimed. Startled, Maggie nearly jumped at the ring. She turned to the console. Her numbered floor illuminated.

“Saved by the bell.” He released her.

Maggie couldn’t resist looking at him. His eyes were veiled but the confident smirk returned. As the elevator doors opened, Maggie wondered who would be the more difficult challenge to overcome: Burrows or Brandon?

Will you be working on any romantic series in the future?

I am currently submitting for publication book one of The Santiago Brothers series, The Snake Murders. The Santiago Brothers is an interracial Christian romantic suspense series about three brothers who find there way home after ten years, each coming to terms with their delinquent pasts and their present issues.

What do you think makes a good story?

Conflict, conflict, conflict! I love making the heads of my hero and heroine butt and wrenching their heart’s out of their chest before bringing them to the place where they always should have been–which each other.

Where can readers find your books?

You can find Serial Games where most ebooks are sold: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, All Romance Ebooks, Sony, Google Ebooks, and on my publisher’s website: Desert Breeze Publishing.

Where can readers find out more about what you are working on?

Readers are welcome to visit my blog! I regularly talk about writing and publishing. http://torilounge.blogspot.com

If you could use one word to describe yourself what would it be?

Impatient! It really is a struggle to slow down and relax.

Out of all the places in the world to relax and pick up your pen and write where would you want to be?

Probably in a bed and breakfast in a quaint town. Culpeper, VA, the setting of Serial Games, has just the bed and breakfast.

I love connecting with people on a more personal level, so tell me what you really enjoy doing in your spare time and why you enjoy it so much?

I enjoy writing! I like to live vicariously through my characters. I also watch way too much tv and too many movies but those stories provide so many ideas.

Thanks for being here Tori!!! This was so much fun!!!

